Arts News

Breaking: Boom Boom beats 2 others to win $100,000 NLNG 2019 Nig lit prize

By Prisca Sam-Duru

The 2019 edition of The Nigeria Prize for Literature competition, focusing on Children’s literature reached its grande finale yesterday night, with “Boom Boom”, authored by Jude Idada, declared winner of the 2019 Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG) prize money of $100,000.
Jude Idada displaying his award of $100,000 for his book "Boom Boom", at the Grand finale of the 2019 edition of the Nigeria Prize For Literature  last night in Abuja.
Jude Idada displaying his award of $100,000 for his book “Boom Boom”, at the Grand finale of the 2019 edition of the Nigeria Prize For Literature last night in Abuja.

At his third attempt at winning the prestigious prize, Idada was declared winner from over 80 entries, and was rewarded with the prize money of N36,000,000 for his book, “Boom Boom”, at an award night held, on October 11, 2019, in Abuja.

READ MORE: BBNaija buzz with surprise guests at final Saturday party

“Boom Boom” by Jude Idada, “Highlights a common health issue in Nigeria, Sickle Cell Anaemia, and with it the pain, love and bonds of friendship that come with the daily struggles of the victims in fascinating and capturing storytelling. The book unveils the world of an eight year old boy who tries to find a way of saving his sister from Sickle Cell Anemia, a disease that claimed the life of his mother.”

In his emotional speech, Idada dedicated the NLNG prize to “everyone living with sickle cell anaemia” who he described as warriors.

Jude Idada
Jude Idada

He also dedicated the award to his niece, nicknamed Boom Boom, whom he disclosed, inspired the book.
“This award is for everyone; the last three finalists, the 12-year-old girl that was also a contender and one of those cheering me all the way. We will keep winning.”
With Idada’s feat, comes a great relief after no winner emerged in 2015 of the same Children literature Prize edition.

Idada emerged winner from a longlist of eleven which included; Jude Idada’s Boom Boom, Dunni Olatunde’s Mystery at Ebenezer’s Lodge and O.T. Begho’s The Great Walls of Benin. They were selected out of an initial longlist of 11; Anisa Daniel-Oniko’s Double ‘A’ For Adventure, Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani’s Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree;  Ginika’s Adventure by Nnenna Ochiche; Anote Ajeluorou’s Igho Goes To Farm; Ndidi Enenmor’s A Hero’s Welcome; Nkeiru Uzoh’s Obioma: A Girl’s Journey to Self Discovery; She Calls Him Daddy by Oladele Medaiyese and Lami Adejoh Opawale’s Spurred.

The list was later prunned down last September, to a final shortlist of three namely; Boom Boom, Mystery at Ebenezer Lodge and The Great Walls of Benin.

The selections were made by the Chairman of the Panel of Judges for this year’s Prize, Professor Obodimma Oha, who is a Professor of Cultural Semiotics and Stylistics in the Department of English, University of Ibadan. Other members of the Panel include Professor Asabe Usman Kabir, Professor of Oral and African Literatures at Usmanu Danfodiyo University Sokoto and Dr. Patrick Oloko, a Senior Lecturer at the University of Lagos who specialises in African Postcolonial Literature, Gender and Cultural Studies.

The International Consultant for this year’s prize, who advised the Advisory Board alongside the final report by the judges on the winning entry for the Prize, is Kelvin NyongToh, a Professor of English at University of Bamenda, Cameroun.

In selecting Boom Boom, Mystery at Ebenezer Lodge and The Great Walls of Benin, the judges earlier reported that the books represent a very high degree of creativity, noting that they were “Highly didactic, yet coated in an absorbing and engaging narrative.” The style of writing as evident in the books according to them, is suitable for children and helps provide clarity to the vicissitudes of life, spur healthy curiosity, build problem solving skills as well as promote the role of oral literature as an effective tool for disseminating knowledge to children.

READ MORE: Ogoni group launches book on late playwright Saro-Wiwa, N10billion investment fund

The Chairman of the Advisory for the Prize, Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo, two-time Vice-Chancellor of Nigeria’s premier university, University of Ibadan, reiterated the commitment of the Board toward retaining the high literary standards of the prize, which according to him, remains the most prestigious literary prize in Africa.

Other members of the Advisory Board are, Professor Jerry Agada, former Minister of State for Education/former President of the Association of Nigerian Authors; and Professor Emeritus Ben Elugbe, former President of the Nigerian Academy of Letters and President of the West-African Linguistic Society (2004-2013).

Breaking: Boom Boom beats 2 others to win $100,000 NLNG 2019 Nig lit prize
Breaking: Boom Boom beats 2 others to win $100,000 NLNG 2019 Nig lit prize

The Nigeria Prize for Literature rotates yearly amongst four literary genres: prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature. This year’s is for children’s literature while 2020 edition of the competition will focus on prose fiction.

The Prize has since 2004 rewarded eminent writers such as Gabriel Okara (co-winner, 2004, poetry), Professor Ezenwa Ohaeto (co-winner, 2004, poetry) for The Dreamer, His Vision; Ahmed Yerima (2005, drama) for his classic, Hard Ground;  Mabel Segun (co-winner, 2007, children’s literature) for her collection of short plays Reader’s Theatre; Professor Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo (co-winner, 2007, children’s literature) with her book, My Cousin Sammy; Kaine Agary (2008, prose); Esiaba Irobi (2010, drama) who clinched the prize posthumously with his book, Cemetery Road; Adeleke Adeyemi (2011, children’s literature) with his book, The Missing Clock; Chika Unigwe (2012, prose), with her novel, On Black Sister’s Street; Tade Ipadeola (2013, poetry) with his collection of poems, The Sahara Testaments; Professor Sam Ukala (2014, drama) with his play, Iredi War; Abubakar Adam Ibrahim with his novel, Season of Crimson Blossoms (2016, prose); Ikeogu Oke with his collection of poetry, The Heresiad; (2017, poetry) and Soji Cole with his play, Embers (2018, drama).


Related posts

The killing contest between Buhari and the PDP – Reno

News Beats

‘We must live in unity, peace, to record progress’

News Beats

5,000 Nigerian doctors in South Africa

News Beats

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy